Age Veeroos studied composition with Eino Tamberg and Helena Tulve at the Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre (Tallinn) and with Wolfgang Rihm in Karlsruhe Higher Music School.


She attended international composition courses including IRCAM Summer Course for composers in Paris (2004) and Centre Acanthes in Metz (2005), master classes with for example Salvatore Sciarrino and Georg Friedrich Haas. 2010, together with a 5-member team she took part and won the main prize in a music theatre project competition of Zeitgenössische Oper Berlin.

“As a child I learned piano, later I also took lessons with saxophone, double bass and early music singing practice. From the year 1995, for the first time I got acquainted with new music, composers like Reich, Boulez, Ligeti performed every year during Contemporary Music Days of Tartu - a very rare event in Estonia those days. This experience changed my life...

Today I work as composer and teacher of composition. I am member of Estonian Composers Union and Estonian Association of Electronic Music.




"Among the other electroacoustic highlights was the world première of Schattenseele[The Soul of Shadow] for violin and electronics by Age Veeroos, performed by Swedish duo There Are No More Four Seasons. As with last year’s orchestral work Skein of Thought, Veeroos managed to create something provocatively intriguing from the most wispy and elusive of ideas. Considering the work’s inspiration, it was impossible not to hear its intangible substance as a manifestation of some kind of ‘soul material’, though seemingly not so much made from shadow but light".

5:4 by Simon Cummings

World Music Days 2019, Estonia (Part 3)

"Taking the title literally, we can hear in its sharp points and glistening streaks of pitch a musical equivalent of shards of glinting ice, droplets of semi-melted snow, gusts of frigid wind, in an atmosphere that vividly conjures up the stiffness of deep cold. But chills come from more than just actual cold, and equally the obsessive behaviour of the players, with their spasmodic twitching, lunging and crashing – extended later on to tapping and banging on their instruments – could indicate the symptoms of a fever, or perhaps a more troubling psychological cause."

5:4 by Simon Cummings

Age Veeroos - Külmking (World Première) 

Age Veeroos osaleb Beethoveni 

aasta suursündmusel Saksamaal


ERR Kultuur, Priit Kuusk 06.2020